Are eggs dairy products? A myth
Are eggs dairy products?
Although we all know that eggs come from chickens, so the question is, are eggs dairy?’. Perhaps this is because the eggs are stored in the dairy section of the grocery store, or because eggs are often grouped with cheese and milk in nutritional pictures. Confusion about whether eggs are dairy could also be due to the similarity of the terms dairy product and animal by-product. But contrary to this somewhat common misconception, eggs are not a dairy product.
While eggs are, in fact, produced by animals and therefore an animal by-product, they are not a dairy product or a derivative of dairy products. A dairy product refers to a product of the mammary glands of mammals, such as cows, goats, sheep, and others, and the products made from them, such as milk, cream, and butter.
Dairy and egg allergies
Many people who do not consume dairy products also do not consume eggs due to allergies, dietary restrictions, ethical beliefs, or other reasons. However, people who avoid dairy due to milk allergies or are lactose intolerant, but do not have an allergy to eggs, can consume eggs as part of their diet, without the negative results associated with intolerances or allergies to dairy.
- Possible reasons why relations break up?
- What effect does air travel have?
- Natural ways to prevent Inflammation of the prostate gland
- Never keep these things in the fridge
Dairy-free egg-free diets
In addition to reasons other than allergies, there are two groups of people who eliminate dairy products and eggs from their diets. Vegans are people who choose to refrain from consuming both eggs and dairy – a vegan diet has no animal products or by-products, which means that not only meat is allowed but also eggs, milk, and butter.
There are also some Jewish communities that do not consume eggs with dairy products if the egg is inside the chicken and is not laid. This is because a meatless egg is considered meat and it is not kosher to consume dairy products with meat (not because eggs are considered dairy).
Dairy-Free Egg-Free Recipes
What can be one of the most challenging dishes are desserts, but there are actually several dairy-free egg-free desserts in which you’ll find many delicious options for pies, cakes, cheesecakes, cookies, ice cream, fudge, and puddings. A chocolate marble cake is devoid of eggs and butter, and it looks tasty and impressive, so much so that it doesn’t need frosting. A smart recipe for Chocolate Banana Brownie swaps bananas for eggs, while soy milk and dairy-free chocolate are included to satisfy any chocolate craving and keep the recipe dairy and egg-free. And who would think that cheesecake could be dairy and egg-free? You will not believe that one vegan cheesecake can be so creamy and luscious.